Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images


Radiohead Is Releasing A New Single Next Week

Titled “I Promise”

by jenny lee

Everyone has been patiently waiting for the deluxe reissue of Radiohead's OKNOTOK, which will be released on June 23 to mark the 20th anniversary of Radiohead's third album, OK Computer. However, a Reddit user made the discovery that the band is blessing us a few weeks early with a standalone track ahead of the album—a single called "I Promise"—which will be available Friday, June 2.

"I Promise" is a previously unreleased track from the OK Computer sessions that they've often played live since OK Computer first came out. However, this is the first official studio version of the song to be released. See below for the live performance of "I Promise" from 1996.

The rest of OKNOTOK is set to feature two other unreleased recordings, "Lift" and "Man of Promise." The three tracks are coveted as "lost" songs that have never had studio versions but fans loved from the live performances. Of their single, "Lift," guitarist Ed O'Brien told BBC Music 6 the reason that the band originally excluded the track was that "If that song had been on that album, it would have taken us to a different place."

The album is available for pre-order now, with a boxed version of it to be shipped in in July, featuring three vinyl records and a hardcover book of more than 30 pieces of artwork. See below for the full track list:

Disc 1:

01. Airbag

02. Paranoid Android

03. Subterranean Homesick Alien

04. Exit Music (For a Film)

05. Let Down

06. Karma Police

07. Fitter Happier

08. Electioneering

09. Climbing Up the Walls

10. No Surprises

11. Lucky

12 Tourist

Disc 2:

01. I Promise

02. Man of War

03. Lift

04. Lull

05. Meeting in the Aisle

06 Melatonin

07. A Reminder

08. Polyethylene (Parts 1 & 2)

09. Pearly

10. Palo Alto

11. How I Made Millions