Beth Garrabrant


Taylor Swift's ‘Speak Now’ Vault Tracks Include Two Huge Pop-Punk Features

The singer’s rerecording of her “unfiltered” third album arrives this summer.

Originally Published: 

In Taylor Swift’s oeuvre, Speak Now is the album where we finally got to meet the real Taylor Swift. The singer’s celebrated (but sometimes overlooked) third album was her first effort writing all of the songs completely on her own. It brought about searing, unforgettable, and astoundingly personal gems like “Dear John,” “Last Kiss,” “Mean,” and more. Now, the unfiltered record will finally get its day in the sun as Swift has confirmed that the album is the next release in her ongoing endeavor to rerecord her catalog.

Swift made the announcement live on stage during her first of three Eras Tour performances in Nashville on Friday, May 5; the crowd screamed as a graphic with its release date appeared on the big screens at the show, and Swift confirmed the news on Instagram later that night. Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) arrives this summer on July 7, and will include six new tracks from the vault.

Of course, Swifties have known for a while now that Speak Now was going to be the next Taylor’s Version to be released. The singer heavily hinted at its release multiple times in not-so-subtle ways throughout the rollout for her 2022 album Midnights. She’s seen wearing “S” and “N” — for Speak Now — hair clips at the very end of her “Bejeweled” music video, and also presses the third floor button in an elevator — a nod to Speak Now being her third record.

Some of Swift’s most confessional and painful songs live on Speak Now, so it’ll be especially moving to hear them reinterpreted by the singer nearly 13 years later. She described the album in her own words via social media: “The songs that came from this time in my life were marked by their brutal honesty, unfiltered diaristic confessions and wild wistfulness. I love this album because it tells a tale of growing up, flailing, flying and crashing … and living to speak about it.”

Read on for everything we know about Speak Now (Taylor’s Version):

When is Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)’s release date?

Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) is out July 7, 2023. Pre-order it here.

In her announcement, she teased that it’d arrive just in time for July 9, a sneaky reference to the date mentioned in her song “Last Kiss,” famously rumored to be about Joe Jonas, taken from the album.

How many “From The Vault” songs are on the album?

Per Taylor, she has “sprung loose” six new songs “from the vault” for the rerelease.

What is the Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) tracklist?

On June 5, Swift unveiled the album’s back cover as well as the full tracklist. See it below:

  1. Mine (Taylor’s Version)
  2. Sparks Fly (Taylor’s Version)
  3. Back To December (Taylor’s Version)
  4. Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)
  5. Dear John (Taylor’s Version)
  6. Mean (Taylor’s Version)
  7. The Story of Us (Taylor’s Version)
  8. Never Grow Up (Taylor’s Version)
  9. Enchanted (Taylor’s Version)
  10. Better Than Revenge (Taylor’s Version)
  11. Innocent (Taylor’s Version)
  12. Haunted (Taylor’s Version)
  13. Last Kiss (Taylor’s Version)
  14. Long Live (Taylor’s Version)
  15. Ours (Taylor’s Version)
  16. Superman (Taylor’s Version)

From The Vault:

  1. Electric Touch (featuring Fall Out Boy) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  2. When Emma Falls In Love (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  3. I Can See You (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  4. Castles Crumbling (featuring Hayley Williams) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  5. Foolish One (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  6. Timeless (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
The back cover of Speak Now (Taylor’s Version).Beth Garrabrant/Taylor Swift/Republic

Who is featured on Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)?

The original Speak Now didn’t have any guest features but, as expected, Swift pulled some strings to include two huge guest features on the From The Vault tracks, namely: Hayley Williams and Fall Out Boy. The pop-punk legends will be featured on the songs “Castles Crumbling,” and “Electric Touch,” respectively, and cement the common-held belief among Swifties that she’s always been a pop punk girlie.

This article was originally published on