'The Idol' Soundtrack Will Have Features From Future, BLACKPINK's Jennie & More

It’s also doubling as a The Weeknd album.

Originally Published: 

HBO’s The Idol is already shaping up to be the hottest television event of the summer. The Sam Levinson and Abel Tesfaye-created limited series — that hasn’t been without controversy — about the twisted love affair between a young, impressionable pop star and the sleazy cult leader she falls in love with (played by Tesfaye) is finally expected to premiere on June 6, following months of delay and an out-of-competition debut at the Cannes Film Festival.

Anticipation is sky-high thanks to its ensemble cast that’s chock-full of high-profile “It” musicians and actors, including BLACKPINK’s Jennie, Troye Sivan, Moses Sumney, Rachel Sennott, Hari Nef, and Lily Rose-Depp, who plays the show’s central character, the mononymous pop star Jocelyn.

Perhaps just as equally anticipated is the show’s official soundtrack, which will be executive produced and helmed by Tesfaye himself, working under his moniker The Weeknd. Since the show revolves around the music industry, there’s no doubt that the music will be on another level, and there are already rumored to be features from Jennie (yes, Blinks, you can scream!), and more.

Tesfaye has already teased that the soundtrack will take the form of a complete album that tells the story of the show, which has us doubly intrigued. Below, read on for everything we know so far about The Idol’s official soundtrack.

When is ‘The Idol’ soundtrack out?

The series officially premieres on HBO Max — or rather, just MAX — on June 6, and the show’s official soundtrack, The Idol Vol. 1, will follow close behind on June 30. Pre-order the album here.


What songs are on The Idol soundtrack?

Since the premiere of ‘The Idol’ The Weeknd has slowly been releasing songs from each episode every week. Here is the tracklist so far:

The Idol tracklist

  1. “Double Fantasy” (feat. Future) - The Weeknd, Future
  2. “Popular” (feat. Playboi Carti, Madonna) - The Weeknd, Playboi Carti, Madonna
  3. “The Lure” (Main Theme) (with Mike Dean) - The Weeknd, Mike Dean
  4. “Worldclass Sinner / I’m a Freak” - Lily-Rose Depp
  5. “Family” (feat. Suzanna Son) - The Weeknd, Suzanna Son
  6. “Devil’s Paradise” - Mike Dean
  7. “A Lesser Man” - The Weeknd
  8. “Take Me Back” - The Weeknd
  9. “Get It B4” - Moses Sumney
  10. “One of the Girls” (feat. JENNIE, Lily-Rose Depp) - The Weeknd, JENNIE, Lily-Rose Depp
  11. “Jealous Guy” - The Weeknd
  12. “Fill The Void (with Lily-Rose Depp, Ramsey) - The Weeknd, Lily-Rose Depp, Ramsey

Who’s featured on the soundtrack?

With Abel Tesfaye, fka The Weeknd, as the mastermind behind the soundtrack, we’re sure we’re going to hear a lot of The Weeknd. In fact, in an interview with Interview, Tesfaye revealed that The Idol’s official soundtrack will basically double as his next The Weeknd album (his alleged last “hurrah” under the moniker).

Per the songs that have already been released, Future, Madonna, Playboi Carti, Lily-Rose Depp, JENNIE, Moses Sumney, Suzanna Son, Mike Dean, and Ramsey are all featured on the record.

Our guesses for who else might be included on the soundtrack: Troye Sivan, playing Xander, Jocelyn’s creative director, and possibly Da'Vine Joy Randolph, who first made her mark on Broadway.

Per Tesfaye, the soundtrack will draws influences from The Wall, Prince’s Purple Rain, and Bowie, as well as the 2000 blaxpoitation film Shaft and its soundtrack by Isaac Hayes.

This article was originally published on