LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - DECEMBER 03: Caroline Polachek attends Variety's 2022 Hitmakers brunch at ...
Emma McIntyre/FilmMagic/Getty Images


Caroline Polachek Announces Album ‘Desire, I Want To Turn Into You’

The singer’s next act is here.

Originally Published: 

Caroline Polachek has lived many lives. Before she became mother to a whole new generation of pop addicts with her out-of-the-box, sirenic creations kicked off by her 2019 solo record Pang, she was the vocalist and founding member of the indie-pop group Chairlift. Now, the “Bunny Is a Rider” singer is finally announcing her next act and transformation: her new album, Desire, I Want To Turn Into You, is set to arrive on February 14, 2023.

Polachek unveiled the new era with the release of new single “Welcome To My Island,” which includes the lyrics the album title pulls from. It’s a peppy, undefinable track full of bright synthesizer beeps shot to outer space by Polachek’s otherworldly vocals — which have clearly leveled up. On Pang, her falsetto still dallied on the same planar field as the beats, but on “Welcome To My Island,” Polachek has simultaneously gained more control and wild freedom in her vocal ability, whipping it across registers with laser-sharp precision. There’s a new, unhinged mania to her sound which gives us the feeling her next era may be her most ambitious yet.

Produced by Dan Nigro (the man behind Olivia Rodrigo’s Sour), Danny L Harle, A. G. Cook, Jim E-Stack, and Polachek herself, the new song follows previous singles “Sunset,” “Billions,” and “Bunny Is a Rider.”

No track list or guest features have been confirmed for the album, though it’s likely to involve her usual collaborators Harle, E-Stack, and producer Sega Bodega.

The cover of Desire, I Want To Turn Into You.Aidan Zamiri

In 2022, Polachek’s pop profile skyrocketed exponentially with an opening slot on Dua Lipa’s Future Nostalgia tour and placements at major festivals like Coachella, Lollapalooza, Primavera Sound, Governors Ball, Outside Lands, and more. Though you’re most likely to recognize her for her 2019 song “So Hot You’re Hurting My Feelings,” which went viral on TikTok in 2020 and ignited its own dance challenge.

On Dec. 12, Polachek announced a 2023 headlining tour in support of the upcoming album. The Spiraling Tour kicks off in April, and will take her to 22 cities throughout the U.S. and Canada. Alex G, Ethel Cain, George Clanton, Toro y Moi, Sudan Archives, and Magdalena Bay will also perform as openers.

See the full list of dates below, and purchase tickets on her website.

Caroline Polachek’s The Spiraling Tour dates

  • 4/14 - Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall - with George Clanton
  • 4/15 - Boston, MA @ Roadrunner - with George Clanton
  • 4/17 - Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre - with George Clanton
  • 4/18 - Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre - with George Clanton
  • 4/19 - Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall - with George Clanton
  • 4/21 - Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern - with George Clanton
  • 4/22 - Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre - with George Clanton
  • 4/24 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall - with Toro Y Moi
  • 4/25 - Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater - with George Clanton
  • 4/26 - Dallas, TX @ The Factory in Deep Ellum - with Toro Y Moi
  • 4/28 - Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre - with Sudan Archives
  • 4/29 - Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Auditorium - with Sudan Archives
  • 5/1 - San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield - with Magdalena Bay
  • 5/4 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox SoDo - with Sudan Archives
  • 5/8 - Vancouver, BC @ The Orpheum - with Sudan Archives
  • 5/9 - Portland, OR @ McMenamins Crystal Ballroom - with Sudan Archives
  • 5/13 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Block Party
  • 5/14 - Denver, CO @ Mission Ballroom - with Alex G
  • 5/16 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre - with Ethel Cain
  • 5/17 - Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium - with Ethel Cain
  • 5/19 - Washington D.C. @ The Anthem - with Ethel Cain
  • 5/20 - New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall - with Ethel Cain

This article was originally published on